What I Want for Tomorrow

Standard

Tomorrow is my least favorite day of the year. January 27. I used to love it, just two days before my birthday and the day before my sister’s. It was always a day that lead up to fantastic things, but never really meant anything in my life. If it ever did mean anything it meant there was a snow day. But not anymore.

January 27, 2009, three years ago tomorrow, was the first day I spent in Thessaloniki. January 27 was the beginning to the most meaningful journey of my life. I look at January 27th as one of the best days of my life, but today I witness it in a new way. I long for that life again. I long for the life where I had no clue where I was going, what I could do and had any dream and possibility in my grasp. 

Greece allowed me the capability to fall in love, to travel, to learn and explore. It taught me to trust again and to give my heart to others. Greece gave me my soul back. My wonderful friend Sam, who studied abroad with me in Greece posted this blog on her Facebook page earlier today. 

 What 20-somethings Want 

I read it, and instantly felt connected to this person. This blogger claims to want someone to pick them up from the airport, to live closer to their parents, to find happiness, a nice job, a good couch, and someone’s nice penis/vagina. They want to get rid of unnecessary relationships and high school bullshit, and “… want a job, a vacation, heath insurance, validation, a back rub, a scalp massage at the place where you get your haircut, people who are jealous of you, an ex who won’t stop texting you when they’re drunk, Twitter followers, happiness maybe sorta, someone to buy you lunch at a fancy restaurant, a mentor who can tell you what the hell to do with your life, a reliable internet connection, a reliable human connection, a gift card to the grocery store, dinner parties with friends where everyone will pretend to have their crap together for just one night, a nice flirty text message to wake up to every morning for the rest of your life, for everyone to like you even if you don’t like anyone, and one of those nights that doesn’t end till 9 AM and reminds you what it feels like to be young and alive. Oh, and $$$. That’s all.”

 

So here’s what I want in my life 3 years after Thessaloniki. 

I want someone to pick me up from the airport, because as Love Actually says, “Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere.” Every time I’m at an airport my heart breaks a little bit when no one’s there to greet me. That’s why, if I can help it at all costs, I will always be there when a friend comes home on an airplane. I will be there, with a sign and love because that’s what life is about. 

I want to establish worthwhile relationships that will outlive the ‘bullshit’ of college. I created many of those while abroad, and a few in college, but overall, there are still so many people I’m friends with now that in six months will probably never speak to me again. 

I want to open my mind to the world again in a way that education cannot teach me. You can only learn so much in a classroom, and France has so much more to teach me when it comes to living my life. I am ready and prepared for those lessons. 

I want to be able to afford to buy my friends a nice dinner. I love to spoil people and having that kind of income would be nice. Mostly I want to be able to treat others the way I feel about them. I want to show people the kind of love with a random bouquet of flowers or tickets to a concert. I want to be able to, for the first time, be able to spoil those around me. 

I want a significant other. I have now been single for about 2 years, and I am ready to let love envelop me again. I want to find someone who has the same necessity to travel, to understand the world and its twists and turns and I want someone who can make me feel worthwhile at the end of the day… yea, that’d be really nice. 

I want to have the time to speak to my parents and sister every day. I love them dearly, and I just don’t make the effort as much as I should. In the end, they still know they’re my favorite people in the world, but I want to show them how crazy I am about them. 

I want to be fluent in three languages. English- check. Greek and French, not so much. Working on that. By the time I graduate from my master’s I plan to have French half way checked. Greek is a work in progress.

I want to be published. I don’t care where or how, but I want my words to mean something to someone. I blog because it’s an outlet, but to know that someone that I have never met could be impacted by my words and actions is something I want for my life.  

I want the time to read. I want to be able to sit with a book for a few hours a week and go to town. 

Mostly though, I want to continue my travels. I’m not talking France, because yes I’ll be living there within the year… I’m talking about true travel. No plans, just a flight itinerary and a few new countries. I have the goal to visit 30 countries under the age of 30…I need to keep that promise to myself and go to new places.

And of course once I graduate with my 2nd degree, I want a great job (preferably in Europe, but I’ll take the U.S. if I have to), a flat I can call my own and for my dog, Teigan to join me

2 responses »

  1. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. However think about if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the greatest in its field. Wonderful blog!

    • Thank you! It’s taken me so long to figure out where my life in travel and my relationship with Greece is going that I still had yet to figure out where I wanted to take my blog. I think in the future you’ll see much more from my travels, once I move to France, and also about the relationships in my life. I think my faith is also something I frequently like to touch on, and I do want to expand to a little bit more. I’m glad for your feedback, that helps me to know that I’m allowed to write to what’s fitting me for the day, instead of just about Thessaloniki. While Salonika is the main subject to my blog, I think my life is entertaining enough to give some wisdom to those that stumble upon it. Keep tuned for me, and I’ll be looking to add more of my other interests in and outside the fields I discuss. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

