rise above the ‘ehh’

Standard

I am so proud to be who I am. Growing up, I hated who I was. I was insecure and always striving for the impossible. I’m still insecure, but the things I know I can do, I know in full fervor. I have a clear path after graduation. I know exactly where I want to be and I know exactly where I’m hoping to go in the future. I know so many people who dream, but will never go after them. That’s devastating to me.

Please readers, do me a personal favor and chase your dreams whole heartedly. There is no greater disservice you can do to yourself than not.

I’m proud of myself, but I’m so proud of the people in my life. I am a traveler, and many of my friends are too. Of those of us that studied together in Thessaloniki, many of us have continued to travel.

My friend Vana, now lives in South Korea, teaching english there. My friend Jill just got back from a year in Italy. My friend Sam continues to pursue her dreams in Brazil. I am so proud of these ladies. They are travelers, and they’re not afraid to take chances, to go down untraveled paths to what they truly want. I can relate.

I can name on one hand how many people that have a plan for after graduation. It baffles my mind. Pick what you love and go after it. After graduation solved. There are so many people out there that don’t know or don’t care. They’re up in the air, they throw their shoulders up and say -“ehh”, like whatever works out will be good enough. I am not a settler. Neither are the ladies that I listed above.  If I’m not in love with the decision I make, I don’t make it. That applies to all aspects of my life; from relationships, to shopping, to my career. If it’s not a 100% answer, I don’t do it.

So for those of you out there that just feel ehh, think about it. Think of what it’s going to take for you to wake up every day and be happy to be alive. I honestly believe that everyone has the capabilities to achieve their dreams. I know people that do it every day. My friend Norris who trains every day for his chance at a gold medal in the Olympics. Friends who won’t stop with just enough. I’m one of those people, and you can be too.

Enough isn’t good enough. Take the risk people. Stop sitting on your laurels. Don’t blame your situation.

Rise above it. Make your dreams come true. 

How many times did Disney tell you dreams come true? A zillion and one, right? I’m not so sure about the whole relationship portion of that stuff, but I do know dreams come true. The first step to that is believing in your own dreams. Give flight to those dreams. You are capable.  Now, stop settling and go dream.

Leave a Reply

