one sentence summation of relationships

Standard

Today I’m going to preach.

It’s a rare occurrence when I openly discuss my faith with people I don’t know, purely to the effect that I don’t want to offend other’s beliefs, but today I think we can all learn something.

I went to church this morning at good ol Prairie Lakes Church where I’ve attended since I’ve come to college, and Pastor John took us to Philippians today. There’s a few verses in Philippians 4:1-3 that I think are pretty awesome. In Philippians, Paul is just about to be executed and he writes a letter to the people, and calls out two women in particular:

“Therefore,my brothers, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, that is how you should stand firm in the Lord, dear friends. I plead with Euodia and I plead with Syntyche to agree with each other in the Lord. Yes, and I ask you, loyal people, help these women who have contended at my side in the cause of the gospel, along with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life.”

Alright so here’s the deal. These two chicks Euodia and Syntyche were butting heads over something, arguing and at war with each other, over what? We don’t know. But they are in history, called out by Paul, to come together and agree in the Lord. One thing Pastor John asked this morning, “What’s going to be your one sentence summation about relationships in your life?” woooo, that’s good right? Pastor John totally get’s points for that one. So I got to thinking, what is that sentence gonna look like? Cause I certainly don’t wanna be called out in a book that will last all of time. Then I thought back to verse one, stand firm in the Lord. Earlier in Philippians Paul says that our hearts and minds must be right, and that we should stand firm in the Lord.

It’s the wounds that connect from head to heart in our body and souls that get us in trouble. We begin to poison ourselves with the hurt, that it’s okay that my father beat me or it’s okay that I lied and cheated. Oh no it’s not. We are letting the hurt in our hearts poison our minds and we’re letting the hurt in our minds overpower our hearts, and that’s not a good thing. We lie to ourselves and say we deserve these things to happen to us, but let me tell you a secret, we don’t.

My one sentence summation of relationships? It can be one word, hurt. I don’t want that to be my legacy. I don’t want that to be what my children see one day, what I give to others. Not hurt. I’ve poisoned my mind and my heart with the hurt from my past relationships. I looked back at Greece while I was sitting in church today thinking about it. I fell in love with a man and he lied to a woman that he loved to be with me behind her back. Neither she nor I deserve that kind of poison to our hearts.

That’s why Paul says stand firm in the Lord. We have to stand firm in our hearts and minds to know that we deserve more, God gave his son so he could give us the world. Man, it’s stupid that we plan anything isn’t it? God’s got bigger dreams for us than we ever could have for ourselves. Now that’s power.

The relationship I deserve is not one of hurt or lies, but of truth, of faith, and unconditional love. I want my one sentence summation to be one that spreads the power of my love, not the destruction of hurt.

So, do you have that fight going on with a family member or friend that you question, was it really worth it? Are you in a relationship that brings you down and doesn’t glorify God? If so, reflect on that, I know I did this morning. What’s your one sentence summation going to be? If you’re not happy with it, think about what needs to change. I dare you to stand firm in what you know is right in your head and heart.

Leave a Reply

