the capability of a traveler

Standard

Today I had a discussion with my ex-boyfriend, who for years was also my best friend. Six years later, after a world of changes, he and I are finally parting ways amicably. What’s truly amazing is that I’ve now been gone from Greece for just under three years, and to this very day, I feel a greater connection to the world through them than the people I’ve had right around the corner for the last 22 years of my life.

You see, I may not be the most educated person, or know the most about the most things. I may not be politically correct, or have the right views. But I know one thing. I know that travel has the capabilities to unleash all of those things. To learn and grow, to understand more about more things. To understand what’s politically correct and why, and actually care about it. To learn what views are right for you. Travel has that capability.

I was 12 years old when I started my life journey in travel. I was a student ambassador for People to People, a program created by Dwight D. Eisenhower. That journey took me to Australia. I still keep in contact with some of the friends I went with, that was 10 years ago.

Today, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity of visiting, learning and exploring close to 20 countries. I’ve met people of all walks in life, befriended them, and learned from them. From an ex-heroine addict now clean for three years to the heir to a multi-million dollar company, travel has opened my eyes in new ways.

So yes, I may not be the most intelligent, most politically correct, or the most hip… but I am a traveler. The people I know and will meet in the future have a greater capability of teaching me the real lessons of the world than those around my corner.

That’s why I believe my life is in travel, in encouraging others to explore the world around them. There’s no greater way to learn than to experience it yourself.

Leave a Reply

