go the distance

Standard

This is what my active life has looked like since age 12, after my first trip to Australia. I got bitten by the travel bug at a young age, and when I got the bug, I got it bad. My travels continued at age 16, 17 and again at 18, and as I left for college I continued my traveling ways. My freshman year I left again at 19 and went abroad to turn 20 in Greece. That’s where my heart stayed.

It was just a few days ago that my friend Lola posted this photo to her Facebook:

It immediately rang true with my life. Some of the most important people in my life have been furtherest away from me in life. For example, I’m adopted. Although I’d never met my birth mother, she was very close to me, although she was at a distance so far I couldn’t fathom it in my head. Another example, my very best friend growing up was named Conor. He and I met at camp when we were 10 years old and we lived in towns 2 hours away from each other, and this was before the cell phone. We still managed to keep a friendship and a closeness through that distance. And most recently, within the past nearly 3 years now, I’ve been 5000 miles distance away from Kostas, though every time I see something he writes me or see his face I feel closer to him. Every precious trip I make back to Greece brings us closer together again.

Closeness really doesn’t have anything to do with distance. It has everything to do with the sincerity and love in your heart. I don’t care how many people say that “no matter what long distance relationships do not work”, I don’t buy it. The distance has nothing to do with it. If two people want to love each other enough to be together always, they’ll love each other whether it’s under the same roof or from the other side of the planet. And I intend on doing just that. No matter what the distance.

ps- bonus- this totally just made me think of the song “I can go the distance” by Michael Bolton which is in Hercules which is totally in Greece so it fits with the theme of this blog so I’m gonna post it. Ha! enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

